Wind Energy Council Elects Officers

The Wind Energy Council board of directors elected its first slate of officers on July 31 in Fargo, North Dakota. Mike Hohl, president and COO of DMI Industries, a West Fargo, North Dakota-based wind tower manufacturer, was elected chairman. Other officers include vice chairman Leif Andersen, treasurer Craig Hoiseth, and secretary Steve Scott. Andersen is vice president of NEG Micon in Palm Springs, California. Hoiseth is CEO of LM Glasfiber, in Grand Forks, North Dakota. Scott is vice president of DES in Gary, South Dakota. Steve Ponder, director, market and regulatory affairs at FPL Energy in Juno Beach, Florida, was elected to the board of directors.

Fargo, North Dakota – August 6, 2002 [] “This is an important step for the wind industry in the Upper Great Plains,” said Hohl. “The Wind Energy Council’s primary objective is to promote and foster the development and growth of a vibrant wind-energy industry in this region. The Wind Energy Council intends to be a strong voice for wind-energy development, representing interests of the region in local, state, and national issues.” The officers thanked Jay Haley for his leadership and service as the Wind Energy Council’s founding chairman. Haley, a partner with EAPC in Grand Forks, is stepping down to focus on his campaign for the North Dakota Senate. A cross section of wind industry representatives formed the Wind Energy Council in February 2002. The council intends to play an active role in solving the difficult problems that the industry faces, such as accessing transmission, mitigating imbalance charges, and developing viable and vibrant markets for wind energy.
Previous articleBen & Jerry’s to Support Wind Project
Next articleOvonic Licenses Batteries in China

No posts to display