What’s All the Buzz about Performance-based Incentives?

Performance-based incentives (PBI) have spurred much of the growth in the U.S. wind industry and have been instrumental in the development of the European photovoltaic (PV) industry in recent years. Although a few U.S. solar incentive programs have PBI or partial PBI, most U.S. solar incentives have been capacity-based incentives. Now, more states are implementing PBI. An upcoming telephone seminar from the Interstate Renewable Energy Council will cover the topic at length.

This Interstate Renewable Energy Council Telephone Seminar will be Tuesday, September 12 at 2 pm EDT (1 pm CDT, noon MDT, 11 am PDT, 10 am Alaska, 8 am Hawaii). The seminar, “Performance-based Incentives (PBI)”, will last for 1 hour and 15 minutes, and will describe performance-based incentives and discuss their advantages and trade-offs. Participants will learn about the new California Public Utilities Commission program, which will transform American’s largest solar incentive program to a performance-based design. The speakers for this seminar will be: — Tom Starrs of the Bonneville Environmental Foundation — Jeanne Clinton and Kurt Johnson of the California Public Utilities Commission Tom Starrs is Vice President for Marketing & Sales and Chief Operating Officer for the Bonneville Environmental Foundation (BEF), the leading nonprofit marketer of green power products in the U.S. BEF uses revenues generated from its Green Tag programs to support new renewable energy projects, and to restore damaged watersheds. BEF pioneered the sale of Green Tags in 2000 and has helped establish national standards for their certification and trading. Prior to joining BEF, Tom was a senior executive in the solar power industry, the founder and owner of a renewable energy consulting firm and an attorney with the largest law firm in the Pacific Northwest. Tom serves on the board of directors of several nonprofit and for-profit organizations in the renewable energy field. Jeanne Clinton is the Clean Energy Advisor at the California Public Utilities Commission, where her focus is to ensure successful execution of the California Solar Initiative, utility energy efficiency programs, and the Governor’s Green Building Executive Order. In the past 30 years, she has worked on efficiency, solar energy, integrated resource planning, and climate change action in a variety of capacities — government policy and strategy, utility program management, and domestic and developing country consulting. She has an undergraduate degree from Dartmouth College and a Masters in City and Regional Planning from the University of California, Berkeley. Kurt Johnson is a renewable energy specialist at the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) where his responsibilities include work on the California Solar Initiative. Prior to joining the CPUC in March of 2006, Kurt worked at the Environmental Protection Agency in Washington, DC, where he started EPA’s Green Power Partnership and initiated development of federal green power procurement policy. Prior to joining EPA in 1995, Kurt spent four years as a Legislative Assistant on Capitol Hill working on energy and environmental policy. For more information, including registration for the September 12th seminar, use the following link.
Previous articleREpower Supplies 20 Wind Energy Turbines to Italy
Next articleInvesting in Renewable Energy Is a Matter of National Security

No posts to display