Marine Energy Invention Garners Top Prize

Converting energy to electricity is a problem usually left to the research team with the most grants. High school student Aaron Goldin took on the challenge of converting the energy from ocean waves into electricity and won a USD 100,000 scholarship in the Math, Science and Technology competition sponsored by Siemens Westinghouse.

The Siemens Westinghouse Competition is a signature program of the Siemens Foundation, and is administered by the College Board. Project winners were announced at the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in Washington DC. Goldin is a senior at San Dieguito High School Academy in Encinitas, Calif. He invented the “Gyro-Gen,” which is a gyroscope that converts ocean wave energy into electricity. Formally called the “Autonomous Gyroscopic Ocean- Wave Powered Generator: Invention of a New Energy Conversion Technology”, Goldin created his gyroscope prototypes in his garage by scavenging an old tape recorder, answering machine, and other household appliances for parts. “Aaron Goldin created the Gyro-Gen concept for extracting power from ocean waves by combining his love of gyroscopes and oceanography,” said judge Dr. Richard Miles, Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University. “He has taken an innovative application of gyroscopic principles and turned it into a reality, demonstrating great independence and originality. With further development, his concept may be scalable to large off-shore power generation as a replacement for fossil fuel power plants.” Goldin has already won numerous awards including, the Grand Award for Engineering at 2004 Intel ISEF, an award from the US Coast Guard, and first place for Electronics and Electricity at the 2004 California State Science Fair. Eighteen students competed in the national finals, including six individuals and six teams. The national finalists previously competed in a series of regional competitions held at six leading research universities last month. The national finals were judged by a panel of prominent scientists and mathematicians headed by lead judge Dr. Kathie L. Olsen, Associate Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President, and the former Chief Scientist at NASA. “Now more than ever it is vital that we foster the next generation of science and technology innovators to maintain America’s leadership in the global economy,” said Thomas N. McCausland, chairman of the board of the Siemens Foundation. Competition winners will ring The Closing Bell at the New York Stock Exchange Tuesday, December 7. For a complete list of competition winners visit the link below.
Previous articleLos Angeles Fuel Cell Vehicle Anniversary
Next articleGreen Power Partnership Commits to 62 MW in 2004

No posts to display