VeraSun Opens Ethanol Plant Ahead of Schedule

Speaking at the opening of the VeraSun Fort Dodge ethanol plant last week, Paul Roberts, author of “The End of Oil,” gave a stark perspective on the country’s energy outlook and explained why ethanol represents one of the few bright spots. The plant began ethanol production in early September, several months before the scheduled start in January 2006.

In addition to speakers and exhibitors, on display were ethanol-powered racecars and E85 flexible fuel vehicles (FFVs), which use up to 85 percent ethanol-fuel blend. Ford Motor Company showed the F-150 with flexible fuel technology, accompanied by an announcement making E85 more available in the Fort Dodge Area. “Together, we are adding value to agriculture, improving the economies of rural communities, strengthening the renewable energy industry, said Don Endres, VeraSun’s CEO, “and most importantly, building a cleaner environment for future generations.” VeraSun Fort Dodge is a U.S.-based ethanol production facility, a large and efficient dry-grind ethanol plant — producing 110 million gallons per year of ethanol and 353,000 tons of dry distillers grains annually. The plant will process 39 million bushels of corn per year and is located five miles west of Fort Dodge on Highway 7. VeraSun Energy Corporation, a renewable energy company, is headquartered in Brookings, SD. Its affiliate, VeraSun Aurora Corp., owns and operates a 120 million gallon per year ethanol production facility in Aurora, SD. The company is the nation’s second largest ethanol producer. VeraSun is a leader in the growing ethanol industry as a result of its efforts to combine proven technology and production processes with a dedicated business approach. VeraSun’s mission is to be a leading producer of renewable energy to benefit shareholders, community and country. The company markets VeraSun E85, a blend of 85 percent ethanol and 15 percent gasoline, directly to fuel retailers under the brand VE85.
Previous articleMicrogeneration Potential for the UK
Next articleTwo Ontario Professors Win Excellence in Education Award

No posts to display