Three Honored for Promoting Energy Efficiency

Kathleen Hogan, Director of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Climate Protection Partnerships Division, Rep. Connie Morella of Maryland and Gov. John Hoeven of North Dakota are this year’s recipients of the Energy Leadership Awards for their efforts and achievements in supporting energy efficiency.

WASHINGTON, D.C. – June 13, 2002 [] The awards will be presented as part of the 13th annual Energy Efficiency Forum, a nonpartisan event held in Washington, D.C., designed to raise awareness of the technical, economic and political solutions that must be implemented to assure energy efficiency. The event is co-sponsored by the United States Energy Association (USEA) and Johnson Controls, Inc. Hogan will receive the Public Service Award for inspiring action to address energy efficiency in government operations. During her 13 years with the EPA, Hogan has designed, negotiated, and managed voluntary partnership programs across a wide spectrum of industries, achieving significant reductions of greenhouse gas emissions in the natural gas industry, the aluminum industry, and other industries that produce or emit CO2, methane and other greenhouse gases. Since being appointed the director of the Climate Protection Partnerships Division in 1997, Hogan has led the Energy Star(R) program, one of the EPA’s flagship voluntary programs. Over the past 10 years, this program has grown into a national brand that is seen on more than 30 product categories and has a 40 percent awareness rate among U.S. consumers. Energy Star now includes more than 7,000 business and organization partners. In 2001, participants in the Energy Star program saved 80 billion kWh and more than 10,000 MW of peak power. Accepting this year’s Congressional award for achievements in encouraging energy efficiency in federal government activities will be Rep. Connie Morella. A Republican representing Maryland’s Eighth District, Morella has been recognized by a variety of environmental groups, such as the Sierra Club, for her leadership on natural resources and sustainable development issues including clean air and water, green technology and population stabilization. The League of Conservation Voters gave Morella a 93 percent positive rating in the last congressional session. The American Wildlife Coalition awarded her an A+ for “truly outstanding leadership in protecting America’s wilderness.” Gov. Hoeven, recipient of the Governor’s Energy Leadership Award for his contributions to energy efficiency at the state level, has worked closely with the North Dakota Legislature to promote excellence in energy efficiency. Under Hoeven’s leadership, the North Dakota State Buildings Energy Conservation Program has provided grant funding to state institutions and agencies for the installation and implementation of energy efficiency measures. In addition, the State Energy Program provides a range of energy conservation-related programs, including energy education, energy codes and transportation to reduce the rate of growth of energy demand.
Previous articleSierra Club Pressures Automakers to Build Cleaner Cars
Next articleSuperior MicroPowders to Develop Direct Methanol Fuel Cells

No posts to display