Excellence in Renewable Energy Award Finalists Announced

For the second year, the editors of the Renewable Energy World network of publications are recognizing leading companies, people and projects in the clean energy industry.

Readers were asked to submit nominations for excellent renewable energy projects, innovations and leaders. In all, more than 560 nominations were received for awards that will be given in 11 categories.

Network editors sorted through the nominations, rated them, and narrowed down the list of finalists. The eleven categories include: Project of the Year for solar, wind, biomass, geothermal and hydro; Innovation awards for technology, policy/outreach and finance/business; and Leadership awards for technology, policy/outreach and finance/business.

Today voting opens for the 12th award category – Readers’ Choice. Readers will now cast their votes for the project or innovation that they feel deserves recognition for its excellence.

Editors will announce the winners in all 12 categories on March 8th at the Renewable Energy World Conference and Expo, which takes place in Tampa, Florida.

Overall, the nominations reflected the highest caliber projects, innovations and leaders from North America in the renewable energy industry.

And the finalists are:

Project of the Year – Solar

(Note: There is no website for the USCD project. Here is an edited description: The UC San Diego Sustainable Student Community project is one of the first California universities to install SWH on nearly all of its newly developed student housing. The facility is designed for transfer students and will serve the universities growing mission of sustainability. The Solar Thermal system, designed and installed by Aztec Solar, will meet the domestic heating hot water load of the 807 residents (showers, sink faucets, and all consumable/potable water). The new project is being designed and built as a Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) project.)

Project of the Year – Wind

Project of the Year – Hydro

Project of the Year – Geothermal

(Note: There is no website the St. Marys project. Here is an edited description: The new St. Marys Memorial High School/St. Marys Middle School has earned the Designed to Earn the ENERGY STAR designation, thanks in part to its use of a geothermal system. The project includes a geothermal well field made up of 288 vertical bore holes at 305 feet deep. The building is served by three main circulation pumps on variable frequency controls (two for system operation and one for backup) and 141 horizontal and vertical heat pumps (water to air). The majority of the heat pumps are located on mechanical service platforms or in the first-floor mechanical room, providing maintenance staff with easy access. Other features include seven make up air handling units that provide ventilation air to each heat pump. The units are provided with heat recovery and are connected to the geothermal well field. The three air handling units servicing the main gymnasium, the auxiliary gymnasium, and the auditorium have carbon dioxide sensors, which limit ventilation air required in each space. The units are connected directly to the geothermal well field. The entire building is controlled by a Web-based Direct Digital control system for temperature control.)

 Project of the Year – Biomass

Innovation in Technology

Innovation in Finance  

Innovation in Policy/Outreach

Ready to cast your own vote? Go here to select one of these projects as your Readers’ Choice winner.

The following are the finalists for the Leadership Awards. Because we have limited the voting to projects and innovations, readers will not vote on the leaders for Readers’ Choice.

Leadership in Technology

  • Riggs Eckelberry, President and CEO of OriginOil
  • James G. P. Dehlsen, Former Chairman, Clipper Wind, now CEO of Ecomerit Technologies
  • Randy Gee, Chief Technology Officer, SkyFuel
  • Dr. Jennifer Holmgren, CEO, LanzaTech
  • Darren T. Kimura, Founder and CEO, Sopogy
  • Roch Duce, ERDC-CERL Energy Branch Senior Researcher (US Army Corp of Engineers)

Leadership in Finance/Business

  • Kenneth Westrick, Founder and CEO, 3TiIER
  • Billy W. Byrom, President, AET
  • John Woolard, President and CEO, BrightSource Energy
  • Arno Harris, CEO, Recurrent Energy
  • Jigar Shah, CEO, Carbon War Room (Founder of SunEdison)
  • Edward Fenster and Lynn Jurich, Founders of SunRun

Leadership in Policy/Outreach

  • Kristopher Stevens, Executive Director, Ontario Sustainable Energy Association, (OSEA)
  • Karl Gawell, Executive Director, Geothermal Energy Association (GEA)
  • Larry Flowers, Leader of AWEA’s Community Wind program (formerly with NREL’s National Wind Technology Center)
  • Adam Browning, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Vote Solar
  • Danny Kennedy, Founder and CEO, Sungevity
  • Jane M. Weissman, Executive Director, Interstate Renewable Energy Council (IREC)

The Renewable Energy World Network of editors congratulates all of the finalists for their work advancing the renewable energy industry!

No posts to display