Congressional “Clean Fourteen” Honored for Advancing RE

The Renewable Energy Alliance, comprised of several American Renewable Energy industries, has awarded its first annual Renewable Energy Leadership Awards.

Washington, D.C. – October 3, 2002 [] The “Clean Fourteen”-a tri-partisan group of six Republicans, seven Democrats, and one Independent from the House and Senate – were honored during meetings with Renewable Energy industry leaders. Each of the Congressmen has shown extraordinary commitment to advancing the development and deployment of clean energy across America, according to the group. “Renewable Energy is cleaning our environment while reducing America’s dependence on foreign energy sources,” said Karl Gawell, Executive Director of the Geothermal Energy Association. “These Congressional leaders have been the true champions of clean energy, fighting the good fight on behalf of America’s families.” The winners are: Sen. Wayne Allard (R-CO); Sen. Jeff Bingaman (D-NM); Sen. Byron Dorgan (D-ND); Rep. Duncan Hunter (R-CA); Sen. James Jeffords (I-VT); Sen. Harry Reid (D-NV); Rep. Mark Udall (D-CO); Sen. Max Baucus (D-MT); Rep. Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY); Sen. Charles Grassley (R-IA); Rep. Jay Inslee (D-WA); Sen. Ben Nelson (D-NE); Sen. Gordon Smith (R-OR); Rep. Zach Wamp (R-TN). The Renewable Energy Alliance is comprised of the American Bioenergy Association, American Wind Energy Association, Environmental and Energy Study Institute, Geothermal Energy Association, National Hydropower Association, and Solar Energy Industries Association. These industries are growing rapidly and today employ tens of thousands of Americans working to enhance our nation’s energy security.
Previous articleEvergreen Solar Awarded US$3 Million Contract
Next articleRapid-Start Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Delivered

No posts to display